Do It Yourself: Crochet a Christmas Wreath

I’ve just returned from some really wonderful and much-needed time at my mom’s place.  I love to go and hang out, play card games, and catch up with my mom.  It’s so relaxing and the kidlets always have a great time with Gramma!  Plus, this time around, my mom has finally opened her own store so I got to browse around and check things out there, too!  If you happen to be hanging around in cottage country anywhere near Belleville, Tweed, Bancroft, Kaladar, Napanee, etc, (or if you’re in the market for an incredible deal on a wedding dress) you should definitely check out the This and That Thrift Shop!

As it turns out, this visit with my mom she was sick one morning so I got to help her out by opening up the shop and taking care of things.  But she also helped me out with my latest crafting project.  I made this beauty but needed help with the bow (wired ribbon must be my downfall or something!).Anna asked me later on:  “So, how did you make a 6 part bow anyway?”  My answer?  “With lots of giggling and a whole lot of sparkles!”  So glad my mom could help me tie such a pretty bow to complete this wreath!

Want to make one of your own?  No problem, I remembered to jot down what I did as I went along.  In fact I made the whole thing twice — wasn’t entirely satisfied with my first attempt and then settled on a simpler stitch pattern.  Fortunately it worked out and I’m very pleased with it!

What you’ll need:
12″ foam wreath form
bulky yarn (I used Loops and Threads Charisma, 109 yards/100 metres, colour #11 Forest)
crochet hook (I used N-15/10.0)
wired ribbon

What you do:

  1. “Cast on” your stitches onto the wreath form.  Basically, start the same way you normally do, only as you make each stitch, pull up yarn from the middle of the wreath and yarn over then pull up yarn from the top of the wreath and complete a single crochet stitch.  If you’re having trouble with this, I recommend this site that I pinned to make my last crochet wreath.
  2. You will need to have 124 stitches (or another multiple of 4) for this pattern to work.  When you have enough stitches, join with a sl st to the first stitch.
  3. Edging Round One:  Ch 1, 1 sc in same sp as sl st.  [Ch 3, miss 3 sc, 1 sc in next sc] all the way around until only 4 sc remain.  Ch 3, miss 3 sc, sl st in first sc.
  4. Edging Round Two:  Sl st in 1st ch-3 space.  Ch 3, 2 dc, [ch 3, sl in 3rd ch from hook (one picot made)], 3 dc in same sp as sl st.  [3 dc, picot, 3 dc] in each ch-3 sp around and join with sl st to top of first ch-3.  Fasten off.  Weave in ends as necessary.
  5. Fight with wired ribbon, enlist someone’s help, eat insane amounts of leftover Halloween candy until you’re giddy, and tie a pretty wired ribbon bow to hang your wreath with.

 

About sdevisser

I'm just a home schooling mom who likes to create and who is trying to find my way through daily adventures with my family.
This entry was posted in At the Craft Table and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Do It Yourself: Crochet a Christmas Wreath

  1. Love this. It’s gorgeous.

  2. Love this. It’s gorgeous

  3. Sandra DeVisser says:

    Love it!!!! I might have to put it on my list to try!!

  4. This is great Sarah! Love the wreath – nice job. Also really cool about your mom!!!

    xo

    Christy.

Leave a comment