Some People Collect Stamps

This arrived by courier at my door today:

Now, some people collect stamps, some people build toy trains, and others of us enter contests.  This is my hobby.  When the kidlets go to bed, I go online, check Facebook, read e-mail, and ENTER CONTESTS.  It’s what I do to unwind (besides reading and various forms of crafting).

I know.  It’s a strange hobby to have, but it’s been a rewarding thing for me.  Here’s a list of things I’ve won so far:

  • Tickets to an advance screening of Forgetting Sarah Marshall
  • Tickets to an advance screening of Baby Mama
  • Trip for 2 anywhere Air Canada flies in Europe, Asia, South America, or Australia (we went to Dublin, Ireland)
  • Package of bacon (technically Brian won that in my name)
  • $25 McDonald’s gift card (technically Brian won that one, too)
  • Ticket to the Heart and Stroke Foundation Lottery (I won that in Brian’s name)
  • Trip for 2 to Milan, Italy (though we opted for the cash instead)
  • Package of a new mousse hair dye (gave that one away)
  • Free movie download from Cineplex Store (twice)
  • Maybelline Color Sensational lipstick
  • Crystal Light purse pack
  • Copy of the book I Don’t Know How She Does It (still waiting for that one to arrive in the mail)

And this week I’ve added to the list with this Color Design Palette from Lancome Paris.

I LOVE contests!  And we’ve all heard it before, “If you don’t enter, you can’t win.”  So I enter.  Almost every day…  And proudly accept my weirdness.

About sdevisser

I'm just a home schooling mom who likes to create and who is trying to find my way through daily adventures with my family.
This entry was posted in Everyday Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Some People Collect Stamps

  1. krystyna says:

    Hey Sarah!
    Great post! So glad that the contest bug bit you and that you’ve seen so much success with it. I haven’t entered consistently for a few years now, and I really miss all the surprises via mail, email, and on the phone. It is a lucrative hobby when you have time to do it consistently! Congrats on the recent win. Your next biggie is around the corner.

Leave a comment