Sunny Weather Ramblings: Canada Day and Art Camp

I know, I know…..  I’m only about a month late to the party!  I swear, I’m working hard on catching up.  Really, I am…

We added our red finger prints to this artwork last year.  Fun to see it displayed this year!Anna was at art camp the first week of July this year so we spent Canada Day with just the boys.  It was a little weird not having Anna there but we really enjoyed ourselves at Major’s Hill Park, taking in some of the more kid-friendly activities.

It was kind of a crazy week — everything was going well until Thursday.  I dropped Anna off at camp for the day (about 25 minutes drive out of town) and on my way back into Ottawa, the brakes fell off my van!  Okay, that’s a little over dramatic.  There was a loud thunk and then a “chunk, chunk, chunk” sound as I pulled off to the side of the highway.  Turns out that one of the bolts that hold the brakes in place broke or something (it was completely gone) on one wheel and the entire brake caliper had fallen off.  After over an hour, I started to walk up the ramp with the boys in tow and a stranger finally stopped to offer help (thank goodness!  and thank you stranger Julie!).  I suppose it’s time I finally go back to carrying a cell phone…  😦  Thankfully, my brother-in-law was able to come and give us a ride home and take Brian back to the van to wait for the tow truck.  I hate to wake him during the day (night work can be brutal when you live with kids) but I think this time it was warranted.  We ended up with a relatively inexpensive repair (wahoo!) and a nice little rental car for a couple of days.  Thankfully, since Anna just turned 8 she no longer needs a booster seat and we can once again fit the whole family into a car!

After all that craziness it was really relaxing to go to Anna’s first art show at the end of the week.  It was really great!  All the kids had hung and displayed all the art work they’d done all week and all the parents came and had tea and treats and oohed and ahhed all their hard work.

About sdevisser

I'm just a home schooling mom who likes to create and who is trying to find my way through daily adventures with my family.
This entry was posted in Everyday Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

