Kids Can: Draw String Pouches and Donuts

Kids Can:  Sew!A while ago I started teaching my kidlets how to hand sew.  This is something that they seem to enjoy but it often gets pushed to the back burner.  Recently, Anna found some kids sewing books at the library and got re-energized about sewing so we pulled out our last project to finish up.

Two little hand sewn drawstring pouchesAnd now two of my kidlets have little drawstring pouches they’re proud to show off!  You can see their stitches aren’t perfect.  They’re kids.  They’re learning.  They’re already improving.  And I serged the inside edges after they’d sewn up the bottom and sides, just to make sure their bags wouldn’t come apart entirely when they filled them up with who-knows-what.

Hand sewing donuts for the play kitchen.Then we decided to try our hands at these cute little felt donuts Anna found in a book.  (If you’re interested, check out Stitch By Stitch:  A Beginner’s Guide to Needlecraft, designed by Jane Bull.)  We didn’t bother with the instructions given and just winged it.  So the size of the first couple is a bit off.  But the kidlets are enjoying making these.  And I think the felt makes it easier for them to do their stitching.100_4889

I’ve learned that I need to be patient with them when we sew together.  That’s hard for me.  But if I keep sewing something for the same project at the same time, that helps.  In fact, I sewed 3 donuts and an eclair before they finished their first donut each.

Plate of donutsSo now, we have a good size set for the play kitchen.  Which Small Fry has already been carrying around the house, dunking into coffees (pretend or not), and arbitrarily rewarding people with (or taking them away as he deems fit).  I think they’re going to be a fun addition to our play kitchen.Time for a tea party

About sdevisser

I'm just a home schooling mom who likes to create and who is trying to find my way through daily adventures with my family.
This entry was posted in Adventures in Home Schooling, At the Craft Table and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

