Easter Parade: Gingham Style

For Anna’s Easter dress I challenged myself a little this year.  I started with the pattern for this 1 hour dress from McCall’s (M6098).  We ended up using the pattern mostly for sizing purposes.

McCall’s M6098 1 Hour Dress (Girls’ Sizes 7-8-10)

Next, Anna and I sat down and decided what changes we’d like to make.  We didn’t want a zipper so I made a single piece bodice back and used elastic shirring.  I also wanted to make sure it was easy to get over her head so we created a crossover bodice.Elastic shirring across the back of the bodice

She wanted sleeveless.  Easy enough.  I wanted to use one of the gingham pieces I’d bought at my mom’s thrift shop recently so she chose the lilac one.  We paired that with some white cotton.  Both were very lightweight so we fully lined the entire piece.  She wanted something “princess-y” so I created an over skirt but kept the fullness to a minimum for easier wearing especially while playing.  Let’s be honest, that’s what she needs.  Doesn’t every little girl?!?In just 2 days start to finish, Easter dress is ready to wear!

When it was finished it needed a little something extra so I gave it a pop of colour with some cute bright pink buttons my mom had given us a few years ago.Crossover bodice with accent buttons

And in just 2 days’ time, Anna’s Easter dress is ready to wear tomorrow!"Be natural...  How would you look if I said you could have all the Friend's Lego in the world?"All in all, I think we’re both pretty happy with the results!  🙂

Anna's completed gingham Easter dress

About sdevisser

I'm just a home schooling mom who likes to create and who is trying to find my way through daily adventures with my family.
This entry was posted in At the Craft Table and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Easter Parade: Gingham Style

  1. Christine says:

    That’s lovely! And your Anna is such a pretty little girl 🙂

  2. Christy says:

    Awesome job lovely! I really like what you did with this. Easter sewing….sigh; I had such high hopes but there’s just so much LIFE happening right now that I have barely had time to glance at my machines. It’s not okay :). But I’m loving what you are doing – it’s great. Loved the boys pants too; will have to try the ones you made for Levi. I’ve made a couple of pairs of the clean slates for Sam and I actually quite like them. Sam tends to be kind of a rake through the hips and legs though so the slimmer legs work on him pretty well. I did have to adjust the rise for Sam a bit though – I figured it was due to the diaper but good to know it’s not just me!

    xo

Leave a Reply

