Easter Parade: Clean Slate Pants for Noah

For Easter this year, the boys are just getting new pants.  I can’t seem to get myself together enough to create them a complete outfit all at once for any given year.  Last year they got shirts, this year they get pants.  Oh well…..

Clean Slate Pants from Blank Slate BasicsNoah got the Clean Slate Pants from Melly Sews.  I won a set of her Blank Slate Basics for boys a little while ago and finally got around to trying the pants.  Noah normally wears a 6 or 6x so we made the 7 — that’s where he seemed to fit in the size charts.

Love the bit of bright red stitchingI made these out of  black cotton (maybe a brushed twill?) that I found several metres of at the thrift shop.  I let Noah choose the thread colour.  Maybe not the best idea to have such contrasting stitching when it’s the first time out of the gate on a garment.  Or your first time sewing welt pockets.  Also, when your machine goes all crazy on you and then seizes and quits.  Especially when you’ve only got two back pockets and half of a front one finished.  Obviously, he’s not attempting to duct tape the pants on so I did get the machine working again but it’s definitely time to up the search for a new machine.  I’m hoping for a heavy duty Janome.  But we’ll see what I manage to find.

Welt pockets (a first for me)This pattern is okay for an intermediate sewist, or maybe a very confident beginner.  Obviously, it’s easier if you opt for no zipper fly and no welt pockets.  It doesn’t have the nice professional finish you’ll find in other patterns, but the look is kind of cute.  Maybe more so on a boy who is a little less husky then my Noah is.  Husky + skinny pant = not-so-cool…  Plus the pants didn’t have nearly enough rise (or bum!) in them for my boy.  Will have to look at changing that.

Contrasting top-stitchingIf I make the pattern again, I’ll also change up the order things are sewn in so I can get a nicer finish.  For example: the waist band.  I’ve never sewn one on like this before because stitches show on the outside this way that I’d prefer to have hidden.  Normally I would sew the wrong sides together then flip the waist band to the outside and sew a nicer-looking line around.

Noah's happy with his new pants, even though I'm not as pleased with my work.Next time around I’ll also have to cut the elastic down substantially.  Noah is husky but that elastic was way too loose.  Even though the rise was so low and the seat of the pants so small…  Strange.  Makes his bum look saggy.  But that’s okay.  He likes the pants anyway.  And I like the contrast stitching with the extra lines of top-stitching.  They make me smile.  It’s just a little bit rock and roll.  Not too much.  Just a little.

 

About sdevisser

I'm just a home schooling mom who likes to create and who is trying to find my way through daily adventures with my family.
This entry was posted in At the Craft Table and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

