Easter Parade: Washi for Mama

Made myself a Washi dress in time for Easter.  Love this pattern!Completed Washi dress

I opted for the sleeves, a scoop neck with visible top-stitching, and added length.  To add the length I simply added an extra wide strip around the hem instead of turning under and stitching as usual.  This dress is so comfortable!  The pockets are perfectly placed, the elastic shirring on the back makes the bodice fit perfectly, and it’s just plain comfy to wear.Elastic shirring at back

The only difficulty I’ve had is in changing from the U-shaped cut-out on the neckline to the scoop neck.  I find the centre of the scoop gapes a little.  Anyone have suggestions to help with that?  Actually, come to think of it, I find the centre of the back collar does the same, but less so.  I’d be glad for some help on solving this one because I definitely plan on making another of these dresses!Scoop neck, with visible top-stitching

I tried to get photos of myself actually wearing the dress but the only photographers I had were the kidlets — and their hands are not steady enough to get usable photos.  Will try again and see if I can’t get something clear enough to post along with this.

About sdevisser

I'm just a home schooling mom who likes to create and who is trying to find my way through daily adventures with my family.
This entry was posted in At the Craft Table and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

