Birthday at Our House

There was a birthday at our house today.  Someone’s leaving 35 behind and it’s not me…  Shhhh!  I didn’t tell…  😉

Two great helpers to bake the cakeHere are my two helpers this morning baking chocolate birthday cake.  This is Brian’s birthday cake.  Every year.  Always.  Chocolate Cherry cake.  Want to make it, too?  It’s easy.

Mmmmm!  Chocolate Cherry Cake!We use our favourite chocolate cake recipe from my trusty (and very well-used) Betty Crocker cookbook.  Only we change out the water for a can of cherry pie filling (the light kind:  more cherry, less sugar).  Super easy.  Mix it, bake it, frost that baby!  🙂

To Do It Yourself:

In a large bowl, mix together:

  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup butter, softened
  • 2/3 cup baking cocoa
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder

Cut in 3/4 cup butter, softened.

Mix in two eggs, 1 teaspoon vanilla, and 1 can cherry pie filling.  Mix on medium-high speed about 1-2 minutes.

Pour into 2-9 inch round pans, greased and floured.  Bake at 350F for 25 minutes until toothpick inserted in centres comes out clean.  Cool in pans 10 minutes.  Remove from pans and cool on wire racks until ready to frost.

Ready to serve -- where are the candles??Sorry, I can’t help you with the icing recipe — I make icing the way my mom taught me (and the way her mom did it, and probably her mom, and…..).  Completely by how it looks.  Okay, there’s also the obligatory taste testing as I go along…

About sdevisser

I'm just a home schooling mom who likes to create and who is trying to find my way through daily adventures with my family.
This entry was posted in Everyday Life, From Our Kitchen and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Birthday at Our House

  1. christy says:

    Video! I want a video icing post! I think it would be helpful :).

    By the way, I have now made your chinese take out chicken and fried rice twice (once for a neighbour) and it’s a giant hit around here! I just left out the eggs in both recipes for Mr. Sam (the marinade from the chicken kept it moist enough that it picked up the cornstarch no problem) and it worked brilliantly. Thanks for the recipes!

    xo

    • sdevisser says:

      Love to hear that! 🙂
      Don’t think a video is going to happen. You just make icing until it looks right. Shortening, butter (if you want it), icing sugar, vanilla, and milk. Until it tastes good and is nice and spreadable. That’s the best I can do. Sorry. 🙂

Leave a Reply

