Tangerine Superstar

I’ve got a baby shower to attend coming up but the mom-to-be is waiting to be surprised by baby’s gender.  That makes sewing and crafting for baby a little more difficult.  A cute little dress in pink and frills just won’t do and neither will anything overly boy-ish.  So I pulled out some yarn and a favourite crochet pattern!

Crochet Tangerine Superstar Baby BlanketFortunately, there are lots of really great bright colours that will work for either a boy or a girl — like this great orange Bernat Softee Baby yarn in Tangerine.  So bright and cheerful!

Detail of Tangerine Superstar edgingThe pattern I used is a Bernat pattern I picked up from a Michael’s store a few years ago and it’s called Crochet Superstar Baby Blanket.  I can’t find the free pattern on the Bernat website any more but this one is similar.  Or you could try here.

The pattern says you’ll need 55 hours for completion but I’ve done this one 3 or 4 times now and only ever need half that time (or less).  The difficulty level is a 3 which I think means intermediate.  Basically, if you can crochet in the round and do single crochet and double crochet stitches you should be fine.

Bright and cheery orange for baby giftingThe pattern is pretty easy and I definitely recommend it if you’re looking for something a little bit different in a baby blanket pattern.  The hard part is trying to decide how to fold this blanket to wrap and gift.

About sdevisser

I'm just a home schooling mom who likes to create and who is trying to find my way through daily adventures with my family.
This entry was posted in At the Craft Table and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

