Some Quick Crochet

For Christmas my SIL gave me a 2013 Crochet Calendar — basically, you get about 100 crochet patterns spread out over the year.  The patterns are compiled by Susan Ripley and include everything from blankets to jewellery to sweaters.

Since I was kind of taking a break from my sewing machine for a couple of weeks I thought I’d try out a few of the simpler patterns just to keep my hands busy and to use up some of the yarn that seems to be trailing all over the house.

Stash-busting dish clothsThe first pattern I tried out was the Log Cabin Dishcloth (by Maggie Weldon, Maggie’s Crochet:  http://www.maggiescrochet.com).  That’s the creamsicle multicoloured one in the photo.  Of course, me being me, I looked at the picture and looked at the pattern and changed it just slightly.  I wanted mine to remind me more of a log cabin quilt square so I crocheted all the outside strips the same length.  For all of these projects I was using up Bernat Handicrafter cotton.

Then I tried out the Rustic Washcloth (by Benjamin C. Krudwig, Benjamin Krudwig Designs:  http://www.bkrudwig.com).  This is the white one with the yellow border.  The only change I made was to make the border just a little bit narrower because I was actually running out of the yellow yarn.  I like the texture of this cloth but I found this one worked a little slow for my liking (all those sc!).

So I changed the pattern up and made the third cloth in the photo (the yellow one) by using hdc instead of sc and making a 4/4 repeat instead of the 2/2 originally used.  Since I was using hdc I didn’t need to do as many rows and I also decided to make a wider border.  This way, I managed to keep a nice texture but it took half the time to make.

About sdevisser

I'm just a home schooling mom who likes to create and who is trying to find my way through daily adventures with my family.
This entry was posted in At the Craft Table and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

