A Monster of a Day!

Yesterday I was very busy at my sewing machine.  In the end I cranked out 6 of these cuties!

Blue Size Medium Orange Size Medium Green size Medium Blue Size Large with hair instead of horns Yellow size Large Orange size LargeMy little model was all too happy to help out with photos but now he’s convinced that all of these should belong to him!  Since these are all intended as gifts for various little ones, I guess that means I’ll be sitting down at the machine to make one more…

The pattern is a free one and you can find it here:  On Hand By Hand – Fleece Monster Hat.  The pattern was simple to follow and I love the look of the finished hats!  I followed the instructions exactly for my first hat but for hats 2-6 I made my turning hole on the bottom edge where the outside and the lining are joined instead of inside the lining.  This just worked easier for me.  Also, instead of pinning the horns in place before sewing, I just zigzagged them in the seam allowance before sandwiching and sewing the front and back together.  If I make the hats again, I’ll probably only make one other change.  I think (after seeing the hats on my 2 year old) I’ll likely change the back of the hat so that it falls lower down the back of the head as the curve rises kind of high the way it is.

All in all, they’re a big hit with the Small Fry so now I’m moving on to monster tails to match!

About sdevisser

I'm just a home schooling mom who likes to create and who is trying to find my way through daily adventures with my family.
This entry was posted in At the Craft Table and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Monster of a Day!

  1. AHomemakersHome says:

    Thanks for sharing these! I’m doing a box of dress-ups for my girls for Christmas – these will make a lovely addition!

Leave a Reply

