Catching Up After Catching a Cold

I’m desperately trying to get myself re-organized after 2 weeks off-schedule because of  visiting, being sick, and simply not being able to pull myself back together…  And of course this week there is so much to do!

Had big plans for our day but we woke up to snow so instead of school work this afternoon, we read books and the kidlets did this:Finally made it out to my first ever meeting for the home school group we’ve belonged to for the past 2 years.  Shame on me, I know.  But at least I can now say I’ve made it out to a meeting and can probably find my way back to use the member’s library.  Also, met an old friend there I haven’t seen in years — I expect it’s going to be fun catching up again!  🙂

I’ve won tickets to an advance screening of Anna Karenina for tomorrow night and I LOVE the book so I’m looking forward to that.  My sister is planning on teaching me how to play a video game this week.  Yes, I know…  I’m such a technological dinosaur that I don’t even know how to play a video game!  She picked out Lego Harry Potter and she assures me it will be easy to learn because it’s a kids’ game…  We’ll see how that goes.  I’m sure it’ll be a lot of fun and many laughs will be at my expense!  I also have Yums and Yarns (a crafting and chocolate evening) this week and our church Christmas potluck and carol sing.  Going to be a busy week!

I really need to pull myself back together and get our school schedule back on track.  And hopefully my sewing time, too!  I’ve still got Christmas gifts to finish up — most of which are already cut out and just need to hit the machine.  I’ve also been rumbling around some ideas for a great boy project I think Noah and a couple of his buddies would like so I need to sit down and figure out the details so I can see if I can make it work.  I did manage to finally zip through the last of these bean bags for Brian today, at least!The kidlets and I have made a huge dent in our Christmas baking, too.  Only thing left on my list is gingerbread men to decorate during advent and Candy Cane Coffee Cakes.

So far we’ve made chocolate dipped shortbread, Rocky Road Fudge bars, Nanaimo bars, and Hot Chocolate Truffles (note about these:  rolling these by hand with the help of small children requires a level of patience I simply could not muster and probably will never possess — proceed with caution).  What’s going on in your kitchen to prep for Christmas?

About sdevisser

I'm just a home schooling mom who likes to create and who is trying to find my way through daily adventures with my family.
This entry was posted in At the Craft Table, Everyday Life, From Our Kitchen and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

