Pinned It, Tried It: Vinyl Record Bowls

About 2 months ago, I pinned this for making old vinyl records into bowls.  I like the vintage artsy look of them so I thought I’d go ahead and give it a try.

When I was at my mom’s this weekend, she was selling records at her yard sale so I snagged a few.  When I told her what I planned on using them for, she laughed and said she’d made them back in high school only they’d done it in science class over a bunsen burner!  Guess everything old is new again eventually, right?

Picked out the smallest record to start with because it had already been damaged by the sun.  I figured that way I couldn’t really wreck it if I messed up on my first attempt.The only real problem with the first one is that because the record was smaller, the bowl kind of looks more ash tray than artsy…  😦  Okay, I can deal with that.  It was surprisingly quick and easy to do and I had a small stack of records to try it out on so onto bowls #2 and #3.  The kidlets got right into watching what I was up to — they really liked watching the records melting in the oven.

In the end, I did 3 bowls in about half an hour.  I think it can safely be called a success.  If you’re planning on trying this out, keep in mind that you’ll need to work fast when you mould the melted record because the vinyl cools and hardens very quickly.  I wonder if I can paint the records before melting and moulding them next time?

About sdevisser

I'm just a home schooling mom who likes to create and who is trying to find my way through daily adventures with my family.
This entry was posted in At the Craft Table and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

