Summer Fun This Week

On Monday, my friend called to invite us to a “country family fair” that her kids had decided to create and run.  Her kids were so creative!  They came up with old-fashioned fair games (bushel basket toss, potato sack race, and apple bobbing just to name a few) and put together some fair displays (a regular country fair might have livestock and produce, but we got to experience a coins of the world collection and a little boy’s brand spanking new stamp collection — all 3 of them!).  The kids even decided on food for their fair:  watermelon and lemonade.  What could be a more perfect event to hold at their farmhouse??

Well, of course we went and the kids all had a great time!  They played games until one of the biggest thunder-and-lightening-and-hailstones-can’t-see-across-the-street-storms-EVER hit.  That’s when we hurried all the kids inside and they easily set about keeping each other busily playing.  It was a perfect way to spend an afternoon!

That night I also managed to finish off a very late Christmas present for my brother-in-law.  This was my first attempt at freezer paper stenciling and I think I did okay though I probably need to work on my technique a little.  Sorry the photos are such poor quality — that’s what happens when I photograph here at night…  Oh, and context for the photos:  the kids refer to him as Uncle Meatball.The other exciting news of the day was that I won a family pack of tickets to Mont Cascades so we’ll definitely be trying that out sometime in August!

About sdevisser

I'm just a home schooling mom who likes to create and who is trying to find my way through daily adventures with my family.
This entry was posted in At the Craft Table, Everyday Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

