Let’s Go Fishing Hats

I just got Sewing For Boys by Shelly Figueroa and Karen LePage from the library yesterday.  I like to check books out and try some of the patterns before I purchase a copy of my own.  While I’m not completely sold on the looks of all the projects shown in this book, I can definitely say that it’s going on my “Please buy this for my birthday!” list.

In less than 3 hours Tuesday I managed to create two of the Let’s Go Fishing Hats from tracing the patterns to placing onto my boys’ heads.  That’s pretty fast — especially considering I’ve never sewn hats before.  The pattern is listed as “intermediate” level but I found it very quick and easy to do.

I pulled out some scraps from two pairs of jeans and some scrap cotton I had in my stash and set about sewing while the older kids painted, played with Lego, and read.  Perfect way to spend a hot afternoon!  Just before I needed to wake the Small Fry from his nap, I had these two hats completed.

I can’t wait to try the Henry Shirt, the Easy Linen Shirt, and the Luka Hoodie next.  Oh!  And maybe the Little Heartbreaker pants in a light denim!

About sdevisser

I'm just a home schooling mom who likes to create and who is trying to find my way through daily adventures with my family.
This entry was posted in At the Craft Table and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

