A Strawberry Day

This is where I spent my morning:

And this is where I spent my afternoon:

We visited DeKok Family Berry Farm in the west of Ottawa this morning with some friends to get in some last minute berry picking.  And by last minute, I really mean “Last chance.  Must do it before Friday.  There will be no strawberries after that.”

We had a great time, too!  I’ve never been to this particular farm before but the prices were good and the berries are so sweet!  The kidlets and I managed to pick two 4 litre baskets and I’m pretty sure our friends all got lots, too.  I got several containers of whole strawberries into the freezer as well as some made into strawberry sauce (6 cups berries + 1/4 cup sugar, thrown through the blender for just a couple of seconds so it’s still chunky) to use on pancakes, oatmeal, ice cream, etc.

The farm staff told me that raspberries will be ready for Pick Your Own on Monday so it looks like we’ll be going back again next week to get some of those, too!

This farm is particularly nice because they’ve got a couple of playground areas for the kidlets when they get bored with picking (because you know they will get bored of it before the job is done).   By the way, I LOVE their idea for a sand box!

They also have some animals to hang out with.

And since I was already being productive, and also because the weather forecast is looking stifling again for the next few days, I decided to get in some baking this evening.  I got a batch of snickerdoodles done and baked some pound cake.  I have to say two things about this:  1)  Is it truly possible that I made it to adulthood without ever experiencing the tastiness of a snickerdoodle?  So thankful that our friend, Elizabeth, made these as a Christmas gift for our family.  I may never have tried that recipe in my cookbooks otherwise!  2)  You must try baking your pound cake with strawberries and rhubarb!  Pour a little of the batter in the bottom of the pan, add a layer of diced rhubarb and strawberries, and top with another layer of batter.  Bake as usual (maybe add a couple of extra minutes if it looks like it needs it).  Yum!

About sdevisser

I'm just a home schooling mom who likes to create and who is trying to find my way through daily adventures with my family.
This entry was posted in Everyday Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

