Birthday Pie

We’ve just finished celebrating another birthday at our house!  My little girl is growing up so fast!!

We started our day with birthday presents in the semi-dark (trying to keep the house cool in this crazy heat does NOT help with taking photos of any kind).

After breakfast, I took the kidlets out to the Canada Science and Technology Museum so we could have some fun and enjoy the free air conditioning.  😉

We barbecued everything for dinner (a roasted chicken, grilled zucchini, mushrooms, potatoes and carrots) and followed it up with a celebratory birthday pie.  Yum!  Anna hates icing so we decided to go with birthday pie instead of cake this year — and she picked strawberry rhubarb!  My favourite!  Truth told, this is only the 3rd time I’ve made strawberry rhubarb pie and even though I had to resort to store bought pie shells (the heat was doing wonky things to my pastry) it was the best strawberry rhubarb pie I’ve ever made.Of course, after dinner we “had” to go to the splash pad to have even more fun (i.e. run off the extra sugar energy from the pie and ice cream) and cool down.  Good way to spend the day!

About sdevisser

I'm just a home schooling mom who likes to create and who is trying to find my way through daily adventures with my family.
This entry was posted in Everyday Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

