From Favourite Old Maternity Tee to Spaghetti Scarf

I spent an hour or so one afternoon with a pair of scissors and a favourite old striped maternity t-shirt.  I won’t be needing maternity clothes again and I loved this Old Navy shirt.  I wore it so often that it was starting to pill from all the washings.

I had had an idea for a similar “scarf” (or should I call it a necklace?  neck art?  hmmm…) made out of woven fabric, but I wasn’t getting around to actually making it because I couldn’t stand the idea of turning all those spaghetti strap width pieces right side out.  Then I remembered making t-shirt spaghetti for a project that needed ties for Christmas and I thought, why not?  The worst that could happen is that the t-shirt gets tossed in the garbage bin, where it would otherwise be headed after being used as an oil change rag.

So I sat on the couch with my scissors and the shirt while the kidlets watched an Episode of Jeff Corwin (we learned all about Tasmania that day) and I cut the stripes free-hand.  The stripes were wide so I cut some into thirds and some into halves.  Then I gently pulled the loops to make the t-shirt spaghetti and bundled them all together.  To finish it off, I used scraps to wrap the places where the former side seams met to hide them and tucked the ends in.  No sewing.  No thinking.  Easy afternoon project even with 3 kidlets roaming around and interrupting.  And I get to keep wearing one of my favourite t-shirts a little while longer.

About sdevisser

I'm just a home schooling mom who likes to create and who is trying to find my way through daily adventures with my family.
This entry was posted in At the Craft Table and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

