Planets, Planes, Paint, and Pies

I got so much accomplished in the last week!  I managed to cross a few things off my February To-Sew List:

  1. Green shirt dress
  2. Green dolman sleeve top
  3. PJ pants for Noah
  4. PJ pants for Anna
  5. Patch Noah’s snowpants
  6. Salvage mission on the Yard Sale Wrap Skirt

I should be able to post more about some of these projects soon (need to take some photos first).

I also managed to accomplish quite a few other things around the house.  I hung the last of the paper planets in the boys’ room and I found some great (and inexpensive) foam airplanes to assemble and hang:I think it may need a bright orange paper UFO right in the middle here to complete the look though.  (Planning to work on that in the next week or so.)

We painted wooden animals:

I finally figured out pie crust — I’ve been struggling with this one.  As it turns out while I can’t seem to get a handle on the shortening based recipes to save my life, I actually have no problem with the lard-based recipe my mom suggested.  Don’t have a clue as to why…  BUT got a recipe figured out now and made half a dozen pie shells.  Most of them went into the freezer so I can make lemon merangue and key lime pies for our 50’s backyard BBQ murder mystery dinner coming up.  But I also made a couple of banana cream pies from scratch while we had company on the weekend.  Yum!

And I finally got around to doing something about Levi’s shaggy head!  He’s gone from this shaggy mop:

To freshly shorn:It’s been a busy week but a very productive one!

About sdevisser

I'm just a home schooling mom who likes to create and who is trying to find my way through daily adventures with my family.
This entry was posted in At the Craft Table, Everyday Life, From Our Kitchen and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Planets, Planes, Paint, and Pies

  1. Danielle Wilkerson says:

    Sarah, the kids look so grown up! Ahh..when did this happen?? Great job on the boy’s room, it looks great! I have issues with pie crust as well, and I’m going to master a vegan pie crust soon (I hope)! By the way, your murder mystery party sounds like a lot of fun, wish I could be there!

Leave a Reply

