The Deeper Meaning of White

We know that white is the colour of purity.  But did you know that in some cultures white is the colour of mourning?  It also sometimes conveys a sense of enlightenment or wisdom.

Why am I telling you this?  On Monday I found my first ever white hair!  I can’t begin to tell you how excited I am by this!!  You may think I’m being sarcastic, but no.  Really.  This is the kind of thing I get excited about.  I guarded that hair all day so I could make sure I showed Brian while it was still attached to my head.  I’ve wanted to have a couple of white hairs (I would have also accepted grey quite willingly) for years.  For a long time I worked in offices where I was among the youngest staff and co-workers made comments about how their children were older than me.  Too bad I don’t work outside the house any more.  Now that I finally have that coveted white hair, I’ve got no real use for it…  I’m torn between keeping it just because it bothered to finally show up and pulling it out just to see if I really will get 5 more in its place!

I think these cultural meanings for the colour white are very appropriate when it comes to our hair.  Some people may mourn the loss of youth as their hair turns white.  I’m not so worried about getting older so I prefer to remember that “with age comes wisdom.”  My white hair is a reminder that I’ve learned a lesson or two over the years!  🙂

About sdevisser

I'm just a home schooling mom who likes to create and who is trying to find my way through daily adventures with my family.
This entry was posted in Everyday Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

