New Foods Challenge

Life is too short not to try new things (I mean, if not now, when?), so I decided recently to have our family try at least one new food every week.  I’m not sure how long this will go on for us but so far the kidlets are really enjoying it!  We’ve had some successes and some definite misses since we started.  Back in December I made them Indian Butter Chicken and that didn’t go over so well.  But whenever I take them to Produce Depot to pick out a fruit or veggie we’ve never tried, we seem to have success.

Sometimes I have to laugh at myself while we’re in the produce store.  Forget begging for candy or sugary cereal.   I may be the only parent out there whose kids are begging for brussel sprouts and artichokes in the middle of the store!  So far new types of produce to us have included:

Canary Melon

Cactus Pear

Santa Claus Melon

And this week the kidlets chose:

Plantain

Artichoke

Looks like I’m going to have to learn how to cook the artichokes in the next day or two.  Plus, I’ll finally get the opportunity/excuse to try out a recipe for Guatemalan Stuffed Plantain Patties (Platenos Rellenos) I’ve been holding onto for a while now.

Boil until very soft:
3 large, slightly ripe plantains, unpeeled
1 cinnamon stick
Peel and mash plantains.
Mash 1 1/2 cups black beans, cooked and drained.
Form plantain dough into patties and put scoop of mashed bean in centre of each.  Fold up patties and fry in hot oil.
Roll in a little sugar and serve hot.

About sdevisser

I'm just a home schooling mom who likes to create and who is trying to find my way through daily adventures with my family.
This entry was posted in Everyday Life, From Our Kitchen and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to New Foods Challenge

  1. christy says:

    The plantain thing sounds awesome Sarah – I’ll have to try that! There’s no dairy or ANYTHING – awesome!!!

    • sdevisser says:

      I can’t wait to try that one either! I’ve been waiting for an opportunity for the past 2 years — guess I just needed to take the kidlets produce shopping sooner! 🙂

      • christy says:

        See, this reminds me of when Brandon and I were first married and living in Boston. We had a great produce place up the road from us (they did a lot of restaurant supply stuff) and had ANYTHING you can imagine. And I would go to work in the morning, and then I would come home and Brandon would greet me at the door with something that looked suspiciously like a hairy softball – and then would be like “HERE TRY IT!” Um…..

      • sdevisser says:

        That sounds like fun! I don’t see why food can’t be an adventure of its own! 🙂

Leave a Reply

