A Learning Experience

I’ve been trying to work through a book I found at the library and LOVE — Design-It-Yourself Clothes:  Pattern Making Simplified by Cal Patch.  The idea is that you work through the simple projects, each project slightly more difficult than the one before, and make yourself patterns for wardrobe basics that are made to fit you and only you.  Unless you happen to have a doppelganger running around who is an exact replica of your body shape!

I’ve hit the maximum number of renewals on the book from the library and have to take it back this week so it can be re-shelved before I’m allowed to check it out again.  So, I set aside all the other projects that have been drawing me away from working in earnest on this (mostly they were things with a Christmas deadline) and I spent part of the afternoon drafting a pattern for a basic A Line Skirt with a ruffle hem.  Maybe I should say RE-drafting a pattern.  See, the first time through I thought I was doing a great job!  You know, “Hey!  This is so easy!  Why haven’t I tried this before?”  And when I finished I thought, “Wait a minute!  Where exactly did the ease come into this???  Aren’t I supposed to add ease into the horizontal measurements???”  Well, yeah…  I was supposed to.  But apparently I missed the single sentence that told me when to do that part.  At the beginning.  Oops.  So, anyway, now I have a pattern to try out on a muslin.  We’ll see how that goes when I scare up some cheap fabric to try that out.  At least in theory I have a pattern to make a cute skirt that will fit only me and fit perfectly.  If this works out, I think I’ll skip ahead to the pants in the book.  I would love to be able to make myself a great pair of perfectly fitting pants!

About sdevisser

I'm just a home schooling mom who likes to create and who is trying to find my way through daily adventures with my family.
This entry was posted in At the Craft Table and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

