Simple Project, Completed Just For Me

A little project that didn’t take very much time and I completed it just for me!  My old pot holders were starting to look like they’d seen better days — after that many washings and so much use, I’m not surprised.  I had been looking for a project to use this fabric for and I figured, it was a perfect print for this.

I made 2 each of 10 inch square and 8 inch square pot holders with a simple fusible fleece inner layer.  The 8 inch ones have a double layer of the fusible fleece since they’re more likely to be used pulling something out of the oven while the larger ones will most often be used to set hot dishes on the table.  You’ll notice that I don’t use bias tape trim on my hot pads — this is partly because I find it easier not to and also because I hate when the trim gets tears in the wash (I keep my hot pads/pot holders for a very long time so this happens).

Be careful if you’re using fusible fleece, though!!!  If you’re not paying enough attention (like, I don’t know, say at midnight) then you may end up with a huge gluey mess on your iron.  VERY annoying and a HUGE pain to clean off!  Oh well, I should have used an ironing cloth and I knew it so it’s my own fault…

Overall, I’m happy with how these turned out.  And now I’ve not only completed something for myself, but I also get to cross another project off my January to-sew list.

  • Patch and lengthen Anna’s jeans
  • Baby boy onesie
  • Reading pillow for Anna
  • Repair armhole seam on Brian’s sweater
  • Purse liner to finish Auntie Char’s Christmas gift to Anna
  • 4x Pot holders/hot pads for me
About sdevisser

I'm just a home schooling mom who likes to create and who is trying to find my way through daily adventures with my family.
This entry was posted in At the Craft Table and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

