A New Beginning For The Kidlets

Well, our two older kidlets started skating lessons tonight.  For the first time.  Ever.  Only their third time on the ice.  In their short little lifetimes.  Their first time with real skates instead of the bob skates and their first time without Daddy.  Yikes!

I have to confess, I had a moment of over-protective mom panic.  I wasn’t worried about my kids falling or hurting themselves or anything.  But, honestly, our kids were the worst skaters in each of their classes.  Anna barely made it to her teacher on the ice and Noah spent more time falling or sitting then doing anything else.  I felt so badly for them!!  No parent wants to see their child fail and we certainly don’t enjoy watching them struggle.  But sometimes, the struggle is necessary for them to really learn and grow.

And I am so proud of both of the kidlets!  They both toughed it out (far better than I had expected!) and they kept getting back up and trying again and again.  And again.  And again…  🙂  I can’t believe how much improvement I saw over a one hour lesson!  I think they’re going to love these lessons!!

About sdevisser

I'm just a home schooling mom who likes to create and who is trying to find my way through daily adventures with my family.
This entry was posted in Everyday Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A New Beginning For The Kidlets

  1. christy says:

    Aww – that’s so great Sarah! I know what you mean; Anika took skating in the fall and at first they put her in a class that was FAR AND AWAY too hard for her. The other kids were literally skating circles around her. They moved her to another class though and it was lots better….she loved it. I think Brandon’s going to try to take her public skating tomorrow :). Good job Noah and Anna! Keep at it! xoxoxo.

Leave a Reply

