Cape for the Small Fry

Well, I couldn’t decide what to give our littlest one for Christmas.  You see, we don’t really need more toys.  He eats books.  There’s not really a lot of options out there for a one year old with older siblings.  Maybe I should have gotten him a Swiffer sweeper after all?

Anyway, I was working on another project and had most of a scrap t-shirt to use up.  So, I took the v-neck front (sleeves and back already cut off) and trimmed the sides to the shape I wanted.  Best part?  No hemming or finishing edges because the knit fabric won’t unravel or fray!  Then I cut a little more off the shoulder part and sewed the two shoulder edges together with a zigzag stitch (to keep some stretch since it’s a knit).  All finished!  Small Fry has a cape!

The only thing left to do with it is to decide what symbol should go on it.  We even created a superhero theme song — Super Baby!  Does what every other baby does, only he does it better ’cause, he’s Super Baby!  I only intended the cape to be something to wrap up that Levi could unwrap when we did our Christmas celebration last weekend, but it was an instant hit!  He wore it all day and didn’t want to take it off even for bed.  Every day he wears that cape!  Even when dressed in his Sunday best, an apron, and a giant neck tie he still wants to wear it.

About sdevisser

I'm just a home schooling mom who likes to create and who is trying to find my way through daily adventures with my family.
This entry was posted in At the Craft Table, Everyday Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cape for the Small Fry

  1. I love the cape idea! I’m writing a post on no-sew T-shirt refashions–would you mind if I featured this idea with a link back to your post?

Leave a Reply

