Decorating With Paper

I decided last week to take a break from my “To Sew Before Christmas” list and worked on some paper snowflakes with the kidlets (you can see some of them behind Cap’n Ridiculous here).  I even learned how to make the 3D kind found here.

While I was at it, I was inspired to try my hand at some simple paper ball ornaments to hang in Anna’s room.  We’ve been wanting to do some decorating for her but we rent so I wanted something low cost and easy to remove when we move out (i.e. no painting).  I think these turned out very well!

These paper balls are so easy to make, even smaller kidlets can do it.  You just need 6 paper circles and some glue.  Find the tutorial here.

These balls are also pretty easy but probably a little too difficult for the smaller kidlets.  You can print the pattern here.  Then all you have to do is cut it out and fit the 12 flower shape pieces together.  No glue, no tape, no staples.  I made the small and medium size ones and I used scrapbooking paper cut to 8 1/2 x 11 to fit through my printer.

All of the paper balls I made are now strung with thread and hanging from Anna’s ceiling by tape.  Once I get a little more of Anna’s room decorated, I’ll post photos of all its pink glory…

About sdevisser

I'm just a home schooling mom who likes to create and who is trying to find my way through daily adventures with my family.
This entry was posted in At the Craft Table and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Decorating With Paper

  1. christy says:

    These are awesome Sarah! Love them.
    Now, because I love you, I give you this – http://mattersofgrey.com/diy-star-wars-snowflakes/.
    I plan to make some Yoda snowflakes to put on Brandon’s presents.
    Also, re: Anna’s room – do you want any shapes cut out of vinyl? Look at Anika’s tree post – I don’t have enough vinyl to do another full tree, but I could definitely do some little things…birds or butterflies or flowers or whatever – if she wants something like that, let me know and I’d be glad to cut some for her!

  2. christy says:

    Flowers and butterflies – you got it! I will work on that – probably not until January because I’m a little bit insane getting ready to leave on Friday (going to London). Is that okay? Colour preferences?

    I know about Christmas cards – I was REALLY hoping to see you guys this month sometime and pretty much failed entirely. Lets try to get together in Jan?? Miss you guys!

    Merry Christmas…xoxoxo.

    • sdevisser says:

      Thanks, Christy! We’re heading out to see family Friday, too — yes, lots of craziness! January would be awesome — actually maybe it would just be awesome if I could spell 2 words in a row correctly without having to back up and fix my typing… We’re doing pinks and purples and I’ve been trying to throw in a little brown without Anna noticing. Thank you! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

