Taking a Holiday Break

Recently, I’ve been taking a little break from the holiday crafting and all the other things that go on at our house.  I haven’t disappeared and I’ve been working on a few things I’d like to share so you’ll probably see some of those over the next week or two when we’re not traveling or visiting or whatever…

One of the things I’ve been keeping busy with is reading — I don’t think I can fully convey just how much I love books and libraries!  I just can’t turn down a well-told story.  And I’ve been finding it difficult to put down some books recently, too.

If you haven’t read it yet, go on out and get yourself a copy of The Help!  What a great novel!  It’s such a compelling read that you won’t want to put it down, even when you get to the ending which is a perfect mix of triumph and sadness.  Now that I’ve read it, I need to take some time to watch the movie to see if it lives up to the book.

If you’re more of a non-fiction type, you might want to check out The Happiness Project.  It’s a good way to get yourself thinking about happiness in life, what makes you happy, and how to be happier.  And it’s not the kind of self-help fluff you think it might be.  The author takes an honest look at herself and her life and details her year of working on happiness all while giving readers the opportunity to think about how their own happiness effects themselves and others and what it is exactly that brings more happiness to their lives.  It’s an interesting read but definitely not the mindless-just-before-bed type of thing…

If you prefer detective novels, you might want to check out Lisa Lutz and her Spellman novels.  I’ve read them all and enjoyed the all out oddball characters.  I’ve just started on Heads You Lose which she co-authored with an ex-boyfriend.  They take turns writing the chapters and you get insights into how they did (did not) cooperate in the writing process.  Each author seems to be trying to take the story in unexpected twists and turns just to see if the other can still find a way to work with the story.

About sdevisser

I'm just a home schooling mom who likes to create and who is trying to find my way through daily adventures with my family.
This entry was posted in Everyday Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

