I Hate Cold

And I really mean it.  I have realized over the past few weeks just how difficult I find it to run while I have a cold.  I can feel every painful breath!

And I really dislike cold.  I mean, I don’t do winter.  What’s up with all that snow and ice and frozen temperatures thing anyway, God?  Yeah, so I completely live in the wrong city to feel this way.  Ottawa is the second coldest capital city in the world!  And I am apparently a slow learner!  I mean, why did I ever move here?  Why didn’t I clue in when I got frostbite on both ears the first winter I lived here?  Something should have tipped me off!

I’ve been wracking my brain for weeks trying to figure out how best to keep running over the colder months.  I started wearing mittens weeks ago when I go out.  I haven’t been out as much as I’d like (thanks to all the colds our family has been experiencing) but fall/winter means it’s dark out and very cold by the time my runners can hit the sidewalk.

I’ve contemplated the feasibility of running in my basement — I mean I would only have to do, like 5 or 6 hundred laps, right?  Well, to get the first kilometer in anyway…  What’s a girl to do when the cold weather hits???

I’m still working on this one.  But hoping to keep getting out there while I can before there’s actual snow fall.

About sdevisser

I'm just a home schooling mom who likes to create and who is trying to find my way through daily adventures with my family.
This entry was posted in Running Stitch. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Hate Cold

  1. Danielle W says:

    Have you been able to keep up your running this winter so far?? I’m hitting the gym in a week, now that I’ve given my body time to heal. Excited to get back to it!

    • sdevisser says:

      Looks like I won’t be getting outside to run much since I can’t handle the cold/snow/ice. But I’ve been looking at ways to keep up what I can. I think I may end up spending about 2 months without running, just doing exercise indoors… 😦

Leave a Reply

