Bread Making Extravaganza

It seems this past weekend was a mini-celebration of bread making at our house.  Brian and the kidlets worked together to bake dinner rolls, cloverleaf rolls, and several loaves of white bread.  This was the first time the kidlets have helped to make bread and I think they did an excellent job.  Unfortunately, I didn’t get a photo of the rolls before some went into the freezer (and the rest were really yummy for lunch on Saturday!).  But here’s a look at the white bread loaves:

Yeah, just ignore the mess of stuff that hasn’t been put away for weeks on my counter in the background…  (*sheepish look*)

Today, I also made a Braided Challa bread for snack time.  Actually, I made two.  Sort of…  See, I don’t own any cooking thermometers and the temperature of the water (while VERY important to the yeast) makes very little sense to me in Farenheit…  Yeah, so lesson learned, if you use water that is too hot, you will kill the yeast.  And you’ll end up with a thick lump of doughy stuff in your compost bin.

Here’s how the second one turned out:

About sdevisser

I'm just a home schooling mom who likes to create and who is trying to find my way through daily adventures with my family.
This entry was posted in From Our Kitchen and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

