What Was I Thinking?!

About 6 months ago I made a decision.  Perhaps not one of my most sane moments and likely something I will regret — over and over and over again.  You see, I had been contemplating the concept of bucket lists and it occurred to me that whatever else might go on one of these lists, at least one thing had to be a little bit of crazy and a whole lot of adventurous.  And quite possibly harmful to one’s general well-being, though, hopefully without actually creating a scenario in which one experiences the imminent likelihood of said bucket-kicking.

So, the decision?  Let me give you a hint:

Okay, so what exactly is the big decision?  Well, if you look closely you’ll see that these are REAL runner’s shoes.  Let that sink in for a moment…  Sarah?  Running?  Not chasing after a child but actual running?  Yep…  I’ve decided to run a half marathon.

Now, I know you’re asking yourself:  “Who in their right mind wants to run a marathon?”  To which, I answer:  “No one.”  Yes, it’s true.  Sane people don’t do this sort of thing.  You have to be at least a little off your nut to attempt something so ridiculous.  And for the record, I only plan on going half-way…

I’ve done my research and there are things about this that scare me.  A half marathon is 21 kilometers!  (KILOMETERS, people!  seriously?  That’s why cars were invented!!)  Besides that, just think about all the spandex…  (shudder)  What terrifies me most of all though:  I have read that it’s very common for people training for marathons to lose toe nails.  I may not be an expert, but I’m pretty sure that my toe nails are meant to stay attached to my toes and never, ever come off.  Just sayin’…  The toe nail thing terrifies me.

In case you’re wondering, I really have done a lot of thinking about this (6 months worth so far) and I’ve been psyching myself up to get a start on it.  I don’t actually know why I want to do this.  I have a feeling it’s going to hurt.  A lot.  I am certain it’s going to be difficult.  I am fully aware of my completely un-fit and overweight body.  And I’ve decided to go ahead and do it anyway.  Just so I can say I did it.

The current plan is to trick my body into accepting the training and not keeling over in protest the first week by spending several weeks easing myself into the whole movement thing.  I’ll be starting with a 1:1 walk/run (by that I mean 1 minute walk, 1 minute run, repeat until death starts to look good).  I’m hoping that within a week or two I can do 1:2 walk/run and then later a 1:3 walk/run.  If my body doesn’t collapse in utter disbelief at what I’m asking it to do, then I should be able to continue that until I’ve chosen an event to enter and start a real training schedule.

So that’s my little bit of crazy in a nutshell.  Will I fail miserably?  Will I actually like it?  Will I have a heart attack in the process?  Don’t know yet.  I’ll keep you posted…

About sdevisser

I'm just a home schooling mom who likes to create and who is trying to find my way through daily adventures with my family.
This entry was posted in Running Stitch and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What Was I Thinking?!

  1. christy says:

    Sarah! This is SO COOL! I love that you are doing this – are you following a training program? I did this in 2003 after our wedding – HATED running; hated everything about it but somehow decided that running a 1/2 was a GREAT idea. I ran the Covered Bridges 1/2 marathon in Vermont. I figured it was a good one because it was really pretty (distracting!) and because it was allegedly “all downhill”. As it turns out, mountains are KIND OF HILLY. And also, while the net elevation change may technically be “downhill” there is a LOT of up and down to get to the end. Eh well, I did it. I’m currently working on getting my 5K distance back and then might build to 10K from there…but am not sure about this whole 1/2 business :). Good luck – you’ll be awesome!!

    • sdevisser says:

      I haven’t been following a training program yet because it is going to take so much work to get into a shape (other than round) that will make surviving said training schedule possible. So for now I’m working on 2.5 to 3 km runs and trying to get better at that. I think soon I’ll be able to add another 1/2 or full km to that and slowly build from there for regular evening runs. Not sure what to do about winter yet… But working my way up — slowly… 🙂

Leave a Reply

